Word-Cut Amputees

God’s Word is a living word, a breathing organism, pouring breath and life into us curious beings made of dust but with a living spirit inside. And Jesus, the Living Word Himself, Word become Flesh, is the embodiment of Word– more than just a story, a writing on a page, he was a living, breathing, walking Person, who laughed and bled and lamented like the rest of us, and who was resurrected and is now seated at the right hand of the Father. He, this resurrected being, is a wonder among men, the firstborn son.

To be a person of resurrection, who follows after Living Word, who is herself longing to be walking along this path, means that the words I utter must also align with his character… my words must be of words resurrected—not words of flesh, but words born of the spirit, words inspired by Holy Writ and Holy Spirit, having been funneled through the sieve of His word, and tested through time and adversity. How am I doing? Are my words passing the test?

Words kill, words give life;  they’re either poison or fruit—you choose. Proverbs 18:21 The Message

The tongue has the power of life and death; and those who love it will eat its fruit. Proverbs 18:21 NIV

This verse pierces the place where the choice is made to offer life or death through the words of the tongue. This weapon I was born with, my tongue, can be used to destroy or build. What comes out in the form of words has this kind of giving power… and it will either be the one or the other. Moreover, I’ll have to eat whatever I say. “How is the food tasting?” I think to myself. Is it sweet? Bitter? Rotten? Am I choking? Gulping? Forcing down half-eaten morsels? Can I even swallow it?

This is some kind of power I’m wielding, when I choose to use my voice… a power so loud I can almost hear the thunder rolling behind it. My desire is to remember to ask myself, “Is it power harnessed, disciplined, carefully wielded, tamed, appropriate for the situation? Or subject to the passion, fury or sorrow of the moment?”

How many words of love and life have brought healing and hope to those in need of them? Therein lies the power of life, with words that restore, heal, offer hope, help, encouragement, words brimming with purpose and love. Since He is the source of Love, sharing words of love is the sharing of Him… any life-giving word, offering seed of hope, any substance of something solid, is the spoken manifestation of Him, a promise of fruit to be harvested, and a reflection of His glory. Oh, how I wish to offer words of Life like this, to hearts around that need it! Do you long for this, too? He won’t let that word come back to Him void!

How many relationships have been destroyed, how many hearts broken, spirits crushed, because of words? Therein lies the power of death and destruction— in the carnage of dying relationships, broken hearts, crushed hopes, shattered dreams, burned reputations, and time lost. And we who inhabit this earth walk around stung, maimed, and amputated. The world is hurting full of word-cut amputees.

I know I’ve contributed to the mess. I know I stand on both sides, as one who has been amputated and one who has also wielded the knife. But doesn’t this describe us all?

While I regret past words and am ashamed of them, I don’t dwell there, I repent as honestly as my deceitful heart can, turn away, seek forgiveness and draw closer to Love, and this drawing closer to Love transforms me from the inside-out, so that what flows from the inward is more of the form of Love-giving speech, sounding more like the master than myself. Oh no, I’ve not arrived, but I’m on the road and Love is what gives me any kind of power to choose the better word, in any circumstance. Gradually new limbs are replaced, and hope comes alive in me, like a season of spring, which is something only possible in the realm of the healing words of God, but not by dwelling in the words of the flesh. The Word of God is not subject to the physical laws at work in this world, so new growth, hope, new life, is possible, out of death!

He says it. We, the walking creatures of the Way, we the people of the resurrection, we have hope, and we have life, the Living Word, living inside of us. Life-giving, pulsing, flowing, rich, full of the breath of God, are the words resurrection people can offer to a world of word-cut amputees, words of hope for new limbs, new hopes, new dreams, new life.

Although a couple of days late, sharing at Walk With Him Wednesdays:

8 thoughts on “Word-Cut Amputees

  1. “This is some kind of power I’m wielding, when I choose to use my voice…”

    Oh, that cuts deep. We do have such power with our words, and how often do I misuse them? Lord, have mercy. Thank you for the scriptures you share here. They are indeed the Words of life that I need to be reminded of so often.

    1. Lord have mercy, yes, I second that. Our words have the “power of life and death” –the Bible says– so it’s really not true that “sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me”. Words do hurt, sting and wound.

  2. Ouch! That hurt, in a good way! I often fail with my words daily with these precious gifts all around me, I repent, and start again. I have seen the affects of words that wound and words that heal, words that bring death and words that give life. I choose life! Thank you for the awesome, awesome reminder. I love to ask myself the types of questions you have asked in this post, really makes me think.

    1. Ouch is right! “I choose life!”– wonderful, Michelle, me too– that is my desire, even though I often fail. This is a reminder I need for myself, daily…it’s a hard one… I’m just struck with the fact our words have the power of “life and death”! That is really something to pay attention to. Thanks for commenting, Michelle!

    1. “May we only speak the life giving words from The Word”– I love that– it’s a wonderful prayer… thank you for that and for your comment!

  3. Anna,

    What a powerful title! I needed go no further (but I did). Your word picture will stay with me a long, long time, and, I hope, help me keep my words sweet.

    Great post!
    Dawn

    1. Yes, I realize it now, the powerful title– maybe a bit too much? But that is exactly how I pictured it in my mind– wounds caused by words that have inflicted great injury, leaving others maimed and hurt, emotionally, spiritually, mentally… so while strong, that is how I imagined it. Thank you for your comment!

Thank you friend, I love to hear from you...

