Ask Me What I {Don’t} Know (poem)

silk-cloth-006

So do you speak English
You speak English so well
What brought you here?

Look there’s an Indian
Over there
Me: Look, there’s an American
Over there

I know an Indian, too
He works at the gas station
Do you know him?

I love Indian food
So what is in curry?
My favorite is Chicken Tikka

Where are you from?
I think she’s Mexican
No, she’s Hawaiian
She’s Indonesian

What does the red dot mean?
What does the red dot mean?

Do you ever go back?
Do you have family here?
My best friend in college was Indian

What Bollywood movie should I watch?
I love the clothes
Where can I get the clothes?

Are you Hindi?
What part of India are you from?
Me: Punjab. Have you heard of it?
No

What does the red dot mean?
What does the red dot mean?

My son is going to a Diwali party
What should he wear?
What should he do?

You don’t speak Hindi?
You bring the rice
Did you see what she was wearing?

Is it enough gold?
What happened
You are too dark

What do you do?
What is your degree?
How much do you earn?

You should work
No, it’s ok to stay home
I left my PhD
It’s ok for you too

It’s ok for you

What does the red dot mean?

 

 ©prasanta November 2017

*

*

*

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ask Me What I {Don’t} Know (poem)

Thank you friend, I love to hear from you...

